Rounding 2nd looking home…

24 Jun

We are in the final stretch, the final month.  There are officially 22 days left until the big day. 

I figured all of you (all 3 of you that actually read this!) would be eager to hear some updates on how things are going and if I’ve recovered or cracked even more. 

I think the answer is half and half. 

Going to my friend Emily’s wedding last weekend was eye opening for me for a couple reasons:

1. I realized we should be working on our thank you’s and short speeches for rehearsal and wedding dinner.   I was  surprised when my friend and her new husband read each other hand written notes about how they fell for each other, in front of everyone!  It took A LOT of guts to say all the things they did, and it was really beautiful.  I found myself thinking about what I would say if I had to do that at my reception and even that thought gave me major stage fright.  I couldn’t help thinking how some of my family members would be eating it up while others would be rolling their eyes in the background.  Thankfully, my friend’s families were extremely supportive and loved their open affection for each other.  This got me thinking though, about my mom’s birthday party and how I got nervous and couldn’t think of anything to say on the spot.  So I better get writing with a few thoughts (and re-writing and then re-writing again to make it sound better) for at least the rehearsal dinner. 

2. The day of schedule… is mine going to be good or bad?  As far as timelines go, my friend’s wedding was pretty much the polar opposite of mine.  For hers we primped all morning but didn’t start pictures until around 3.  We took pictures for about 30 minutes and then had our next event 530.  The ceremony started around 6:30.  This schedule worked well because we had a lot of time to get ready and we never felt rushed.  Downsides are obvious – keeping hair and makeup looking nice from 10am until 6:30pm is challenging.  For my wedding, our schedule is get ready between 9-1; then pictures (girls and guys separate) and then ceremony at 230.  After we will do family shots and bridal party at the church and in the meantime our friends and family will be at cocktail hour at the country club.  Then we’ll go back to the country club and take more pictures on the grounds and hopefully wrap it all up by 5 so we can talk a tiny bit before dinner starts.  Everyone keeps telling me not to rush and to give plenty of time, but I’m just not sure how that will work.  Also, my grandma promised it was okay not to do a giant family picture at the wedding, and I hope that promise sticks (:  I would like the picture, but the sheer amount of energy and set up for all those people sounds stressful.  I really hate taking family pictures.  I love looking at them later, but hate the setup process. 

In other news, the breakouts are getting better, but not fully gone.  I’ve been using SOAP and washing frequently but these zits are very persistent.  My face must be a nice place to live.  They are really holding on for dear life. 

We submitted our program outline, we picked our readings, just waiting to see them printed from M Hopple.  We finalized the menu’s with M Hopple yesterday.  Today my mom personally drove my baptism certificate down to the church (45 minute drive) so that my priest would be able to send it to the Archdiosease downtown in time for it to be processed so that we can be married.  THANK YOU, MOM!  That was something that had been weighing on me for weeks.  Although me and Drew didn’t hear the priest state we needed an original, the fact that I lost the thing for 2 months and just gave it to him recently (and then found out we needed the original) didn’t help matters.  Thank god my mom was able to balance everything going on and got that situation taken care of.  It was one of the times I had to pull the ‘mother of the bride’ card and ask her to handle it.   There have been a few of those..

Next week we meet with the wedding planner, Catherine, for our final meeting & handoff.  After this, I’m hoping everything will begin magically falling into place (: 

Final fitting is July 5. 

In the most exciting news of the week, we found the perfect, most beautiful earrings to go with my mom’s necklace that I will be wearing at the wedding.  My mom (Thanks again!) had gone to a jeweler and picked several vintage earrings out of a catalogue for me to try out.  Thankfully, she has excellent taste and the earrings were very cute.  There was one pair that stood out from the rest though.  They are really neat, sparkly and the perfect size.  They aren’t too small, but they aren’t too big either.  When I tried them on at the store with the necklace, I took my hair down from its usual ponytail, and looking in the mirror, I felt like a real bride (:

Ok, back to work, cleaning and laundry.  My aunt is coming to visit this weekend and I want this place looking good!  Plus, all this disorganization is really starting to get to me.  If you’ve read the other blog, the rehab of the house is pretty much done but we never really had that sort and organize period at the house, so everything is still pretty much thrown everywhere.  I think that does hurt your ability to get other things done when you constantly see things out of place, can’t find things when you need them, etc.  It probably doesn’t look that severe to anyone else who has been here, but for me its been building for a while.  Hopefully this weekend will be exceptionally productive!

More to come next week!

2 Responses to “Rounding 2nd looking home…”

  1. Mom June 25, 2011 at 2:18 am #

    Wow, never have gotten so many…Thanks Mom before!! So happy to be here to help for my only daughter!!

  2. Maria July 21, 2011 at 6:09 pm #

    So how was the wedding I would love to see pictures. Mine is coming up September 17, 2011, and I am feeling much of what you did my face is breaking out so bad and for the first time ever it’s leaving dark spots.

Leave a Reply

